This little heart of mine

It was a good day in my life when my sister and I urged our parents to allow us visit a family friend for a few days. They don’t like us going out of the house and we knew it so we begged and begged, since we were on break from the University.
On urging, our parents reluctantly agreed and we set out, happy to be free for a few days.
When we got there, we did the usual greetings and catching up; there wasn’t much to do on that since we were just getting to know the so called ‘family friends’.
Anyway, after doing a bit of “catching up”, the eldest of them, Deji suggested we go visit a neighbour of theirs that they are friendly with.
“Okay” we agreed. At least in my view, it was better than still trying to “catch up”. We set out for the neighbour’s house and a little way out I noticed a guy walking towards us, I was still goofing around with Deji and the others until Deji’s sister, Deola mentioned that the person we were going to meet is the one coming towards us.

First Sight
As he moved nearer, I noticed he was tall; and dark but his other features were not clear. I waited impatiently for him to arrive, wondering what all the fuss was about him. Little did I know I will soon be all over him.
He got nearer, I saw his face for the first time and I stumbled into what I can only term “like very much @ first sight”. I have always thought love at first sight sounds corny and a bit far-fetched but I can very well go with my own personal term.
I don’t know if it was his handsome face, his physique or what have you, I only knew I wanted to be close to him.
He greeted his friends and looked towards my sister and me with curiosity, we were introduced to him promptly and we proceeded back into the house. So much for trying to avoid the “catching up” process, I thought, only I didn’t mind as much as I did before because I had something interesting to think of and look at surreptitiously.
We sat around casually to gist and Bro Niyi, (as he is called respectfully by those older than I am, which I was obliged to copy even if I definitely was not thinking about him in any brotherly capacity) proceeded to charm me. I’m sure he didn’t set out to do that, he was just being his usual fun and friendly self but in my vulnerable state, I was charmed nonetheless.
He is considerably older and I kept thinking how he wouldn’t notice me, he been a matured man of the world and all but that didn’t deter me from fantasizing anyways. I lived for when Bro Niyi will visit. I get brighter, lighter, happier whenever he was around which was every evening since he has to work during the day. My nights were definitely happier than my days in any case.

Turning Point
The change came one stormy night. It rained heavily that night so Bro Niyi couldn’t come to visit and we couldn’t go to his house too. I was out of it that evening; irritable, sad and moody. He was like an addiction and when I couldn’t get my fix, I reacted.
Then and there, I decided to tell him in a subtle way how his absence made me feel. I sent a text to his phone and told him that I miss not seeing him that evening. To my greatest joy he replied my text and told me that his feelings mirror mine. I was on top of the world that night, nothing could touch me. The knowledge that he felt the same way I did set me on a plane of euphoria, I was flying. In my mind, the Bro was definitely deleted leaving only ‘Niyi’.
The next morning, he was the first person I saw. I was still sleeping when Deji came to tell me I had a visitor. Imagine my pleasure when Niyi stood at the front door dressed for work. My heart did a drum roll as I greeted him shyly. I guess he needed his fix for the day too.
We started spending more time together. We exchanged longing glances when we think nobody was looking, went for evening strolls, talked about anything and everything. He was always a perfect gentleman, doing nothing more than holding my hand or hugging me whenever we were alone.
I stumbled into love before I knew what hit me, I was a lucky girl; he loved me right back and he still loves me!

6 thoughts on “This little heart of mine

  1. 🙂 hmm!now we get 2 know how you guys met.God bless the day your parents allowed you to visit the family friends and the day your union was formalised. Waiting for the sequel

    Like

  2. Wow! Nice part of an “autobiography”. Captivating! That’s cool anyways. Would really love your blog to be as widely visited as LIB or Bella naija. Thumbs up friend. You r going there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

