Ties That Bind

It was a day out of hell for Sylvia when she met Gbadebo. Nothing had gone right that day except their meeting.
Rewind to the actual moment they met: She was coming from running an errand with her arms filled with shopping bags when she collided with him as she was about to cross the road to where her car was packed. Suffice to say all the stuff she was carrying dropped and she scrambled to pick them up.
Here she was in the middle of the road with cars honking left and right and drivers screaming at her to get off the road. She was frazzled. Then out of the corner of her eye she saw a young man bent beside her helping her to pick up her scattered belongings.
“I’m so sorry.” he said repeatedly as he picked up an eye – shadow pallet from the hot asphalt. “I didn’t watch where I was going because I was in such a hurry.”
Sylvia ignored him until she had picked the last item from the ground. He held the eye – shadow pallet to her and she examined it critically for any damage. Thank God it was still intact.
It was then and only then she raised her eyes to look at him or even acknowledge his presence. The impact of that first eye contact threw her for a loop.
The funny part was he was not a classically handsome man but then,  his face had such character and history that was very hard to ignore or even look away from. After Sylvia stared at him speechlessly for a while without saying anything he asked if she was alright.
“I’m okay. I’m fine, thanks.” She answered, embarrassed by her stare.
“I’m truly sorry for all that.” he repeated.
“It’s alright, don’t worry about it. No harm done.”
He smiled. It was a good smile. “That’s very generous of you. I’ll like to make it up to you though. Can we go somewhere for a drink?”
Sylvia was surprised. She’s used to strangers asking her out but not in such a manner and with such confidence.
“I thought you were in a hurry to get somewhere?”
“I am but I’m rather late so i’ll call to reschedule.” he smiled. “Please let me make it up to you. Just a quick drink; I promise I won’t hold you for long.”
Why not? I’ll take a chance. Sylvia thought. She reasoned they’ll be in a public place so he can’t harm her and she sure deserves a drink for the ordeal he put her through.
“Okay.” she finally agreed. “I can do a quick drink.”

……to be continued.

Maggie Smart

Leave a Reply

