Genuine Hearts

I have forever wondered why bad things happen to good people and I have till this day not gotten a suitable/satisfying answer to this all important question. It’s a question we’ve all asked ourselves at one time or the other during the course of our journey through this life: it could be when we loose a loved one, or when someone looses their job, or when any scenario we term as ‘bad’ happens.

My question is what constitutes a ‘good person?’ Is it the good we do in the society?; is it lending a helping hand to our fellow man?; is it being morally upright?; is it minding our business and not talking bad about anyone? What constitutes a good person?

After a lot of thought, I decided it can be summarized in the Fela Durotoye’s write-up I have hanging on the wall in my room. It goes:

I commit myself to: Make a positive impact on everyone I meet and everywhere I go; be a solution provider and not be a part of the problem to be solved; be a role model worthy of emulation; be my best in all I do particularly the things I’m naturally good at; do the right thing at all times regardless of who is doing the wrong thing; value time and make the best use of it; care and show respect through my words and actions; consciously build a great legacy starting now, today and everyday; live a life of honor and integrity; make my family, my nation and my God proud.

That to me, summarizes what being a good person is. Make the decision to always be a ‘good person’ today.

Leave a Reply

